Meet the artist Lucinda Denning

September 28, 2010 at 9:21 pm Leave a comment

Tells us a little about yourself?

I live in Furzedown with my husband & 3 Girls.
I have been painting for ever and feel lucky that I love what I do

What type of art work do you do?
Mainly oil paintings and Goauche paintings of figures, I sometimes do conventional portraits but usually the figures are invented. I also make some mosaics

What inspires you / influences your work?
I love bright colours and combining pattern and colour and I can’t stop painting faces.

How did you come to be doing this type of work?
I really can’t do anything else!

Where did you train / develop your work?
I did my degree at Farnham in painting and I later took an MA at Chelsea in Public Art

What do you like about being an artist living or working in Tooting and Furzedown?
There’s space for my studio in the garden and there are a lot of other artists in the neighbourhood

Who is your favourite artist / art work and why?
I am quite rooted in the early 20th century and love Chagall, Bonnard and later on Frieda Kahlo

What has been happening since last year’s open house?
I have been incredibly busy and much of that work actually stems from the last Open House. I put up a sign for people to do art classes and they have really taken off. I’ve also been working on numerous commissions. I have also had 2 solo shows (one at Sprout in Furzedown and one in Whitechapel).

What new projects do you have planned next?
I’ve got an exhibition in Colchester in November, And I’m working on a range of commissions plus continuing with the teaching.

And finally, where can your work be seen or do you have any exhibitions planned?
My work can always be seen on my website and I’m putting on new work when it is finished. Then I will have the Exhibition in the Colne Gallery, Colchester General Hospital for the month of November(2010)

Why are you taking part in Wandsworth Artists Open House?
It’s a really good way to open my work up to a new public, many of whom might not have the time or inclination to travel to a gallery. It is also a chance to show my friends and neighbours what I do

What can visitors to your open house look forward to?
As well as paintings I’ve got a large range of cards of some my paintings. And my daughters will be providing tea and cakes! ( and some of their own cards including the very popular I love Dogs collection!)

Whose work are you looking forward to seeing in the Wandsworth Artists Open House?
Unfortunately I never get out of my studio to see any one else’s work which is most frustrating as there are so many interesting and talented artists nearby. If I could I would definitely visit Ken McCalla and Emma Forrester

Lucindadenning@btinternet.com
http://www.lucinda-denning.com

Entry filed under: Meet the Artist.

Meet Fabric Nation and friends Guided tours

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Open House Weekends

2013 dates!
Saturday 5 & Sunday 6 Oct
Saturday 12 & Sunday 13 Oct
11am to 6pm

Visit the Wandsworth Arts website for a guide to all the Wandsworth Artists Open Houses.

Contact T'Art

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 28 other followers

Recent Posts

See our latest work