Meet the Artist – Nicola Troll

September 16, 2010 at 2:03 pm Leave a comment

What type of art work you do?

Etching and aquatints

What inspires you / influences your work?

Nature – I like to capture views from different angles or pick up views that others might miss.  I particularly am keen to capture light and movement and a moment in time that is seldom repeated.  Much of my inspiration comes from places I have visited on holiday.

How did you come to be doing this type of work?

I visited Australia and fell in love with Ayres Rock.  It inspired me to want to make some art.  I had done some screen printing at school, and thought it would be a good medium to do the rock justice.  I couldn’t find an evening class to do screenprinting, but there was a class to do etching.  It was love at first sight and has been my passion ever since.

Where did you train / develop your work?

Bournemouth Collage of Art and Design.  I am currently working at Kew Studio.

Why are you taking part in Wandsworth Artists Open House?

It is an opportunity for my work to get a wider audience.

What can visitors to your open house look forward to?

A volume of work including a large number of new pieces from last year.  There is also the opportunity to learn more about etching and other printmaking techniques.

Whose work are you looking forward to seeing in the Wandsworth Artists Open House?

One of the problems with doing Open House on your own is that there is no opportunity to visit other studios.  If I did then I would be spoiled for choice – too many to mention.

What do you like about being an artist living or working in Tooting and Furzedown?

It is nice having both Tooting and Wandsworth Common in walking distance.  Both have provided me with inspiration for my work.

Who is favourite artist / art work and why?

Again there are a lot to choose from.  I like some of Munch’s work and other lesser known Scandinavian artist, because of their colours and sense of movement. I like the sense of design and boldness of colour that Klimt brings to his work.  Recently I have been enthralled by Turners seascapes and his depiction of light. I also enjoyed seeing Whistler’s nocturnes.  For modern artists I like the skies and atmosphere that Fred Cumings and Donald Hamilton Frasier bring to their work.

And finally, do you have any exhibitions planned?

I am hoping to have my first solo exhibition in Hertford next year.

What has happened since 2009 Open House?

I have achieved a long held ambition and set up my own web-site –

www.NicolaTrollEtching.co.uk

Please visit and let me know what you think.

Do you have other plans for the future?

My next step is to set up an internet shop on folksy.com.

Thank you Nicola and good luck with you on-line adventures.  Nicola’s work can be seen at venue 68

Entry filed under: Uncategorized.

Meet the artists – Mandy Treptow Ken McCalla at Foodival

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Open House Weekends

2013 dates!
Saturday 5 & Sunday 6 Oct
Saturday 12 & Sunday 13 Oct
11am to 6pm

Visit the Wandsworth Arts website for a guide to all the Wandsworth Artists Open Houses.

Contact T'Art

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 28 other followers

Recent Posts

See our latest work