Meet the artist – Ilana Richardson

September 11, 2010 at 8:28 pm Leave a comment

Meet the Artist Interview

Tells us a little about yourself?

I grew up in Israel and have lived in London since 1974. I have been painting professionally for the last 30 years
and published my screen prints with CCA Galleries for 20 years. Had more exhibitions than I can remember.

What type of art work do you do?

Watercolours of Mediterranean scenes, mainly buildings and gardens with strong light and colour. Much of my work is from Italy, Greece, France and Mexico.

What inspires you / influences your work?

Light and shadows in hot places. Vibrant colours. Reflections in water.

How did you come to be doing this type of work?

I travel a lot and my first “hot” paintings were from a holiday in Brazil. Since then I have been on many painting trips, mainly around the Med, but also Central America and recently India.

Where did you train / develop your work?

Completed art college in Jerusalem and London, and later worked as an illustrator until I started to paint professionally

Why are you taking part in Wandsworth Artists Open House?

I have been doing Open Studios independently since the eighties, and its really nice to join forces with other local artists and get different exposure. I enjoy meeting the other artists.

What can visitors to your open house look forward to?

People enjoy wandering through the house and looking at paintings and prints with a glass of wine. This year I’ll be doing painting demonstrations each afternoon.

Whose work are you looking forward to seeing in the Wandsworth Artists Open House?

Sadly I have never been able to see other artist’s houses, as I have to be at mine…

What do you like about being an artist living or working in Tooting and Furzedown?

Community feeling. Majority of my customers live within a mile from me.

Who is your favourite artist / art work and why?

Edward Hopper. When I first saw an exhibition of his paintings 30 years ago, I was hugely inspired by the shadows and light and his compositions.

What has been happening since last year’s open house?

I travelled to Kerala and painted watery scenes. I also did some commissions of people’s houses.

What new projects do you have planned next?

Travelling to Cape Town, and plan to paint there.

And finally, where can your work be seen or do you have any exhibitions planned?

My studio is the best place to see a good selection of my paintings.

Thank you.

www.ilana-richardson.com

Entry filed under: Uncategorized.

Talks and demos during open house The Henry and Bob Show

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Open House Weekends

2013 dates!
Saturday 5 & Sunday 6 Oct
Saturday 12 & Sunday 13 Oct
11am to 6pm

Visit the Wandsworth Arts website for a guide to all the Wandsworth Artists Open Houses.

Contact T'Art

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 28 other followers

Recent Posts

See our latest work