Meet the Artist – Emma Forrester

September 29, 2009 at 12:17 pm Leave a comment

emma1What type of artwork you do?

I mainly produce paintings with flowers, some are quite representational whilst others stray more abstraction.

I am obsessed with colour; I am always trying to build more vibrancy and depth into my work with layer upon layer of translucent, inky washes of colour.

What inspires you / influences your work?

Inspiration can come from so many places – I’m always looking for texture, pattern and form whether in the natural world or elsewhere. The most amazing colours and textures can be seen on tree bark or more unlikely objects might inspire such as the patina on a rusty sheet of metal.
 
emma2Where did you train / develop your work?

I’ve drawn and painted all of my life.   I did a degree in Fine Art at Hope University, Liverpool. Afterwards I worked as a scenic artist in the theatre for many years. I enjoyed this greatly and it had a great influence on the work I produce. I now paint on a range of different sized canvas, but I do like to work on a large scale.

Why are you taking part in Wandsworth Artists Open House?

To publicise and show my work in the vibrant community where I live.

What do you like about being an artist living or working in Tooting and Furzedown?

I’ve always enjoyed living in Furzedown and now I’ve met so many other artists living and working locally through Wandsworth Open House it’s even better.emma3

Who is favourite artist / art work and why?

One of my favourite artists at the moment is Elaine Pamphilon- an artist who paints St Ives and it’s environs so beautifully.

And finally, do you have any exhibitions planned?

My next show will be at Wimbledon Art Studios Thurs 26th November- Sunday 29th See website for details – www.wimbledonartstudios.co.uk

 Thank you.  Emma Forrester’s work will be on display at venue 67 in the brochure.

emma4

Entry filed under: Meet the Artist, Tooting Artists. Tags: , .

Meet the Artist – Valerie Taylor Meet the Artist – Chocolate Creative

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Open House Weekends

2013 dates!
Saturday 5 & Sunday 6 Oct
Saturday 12 & Sunday 13 Oct
11am to 6pm

Visit the Wandsworth Arts website for a guide to all the Wandsworth Artists Open Houses.

Contact T'Art

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 29 other followers

Recent Posts

See our latest work

Untitled

Art and Fashion 5A

après magritte

More Photos

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 29 other followers